Statement 665 Views

Statement on the 11thCongress of KWAT

July 6th, 2021  •  Author:   Kachin Women's Association Thailand  •  2 minute read
Featured image

6thJuly 2021

The 11th Congress of the Kachin Women’s Association Thailand (KWAT) was held during 24-25-26 June 2021. During the congress, KWAT’s work in 2019 and 2020 was reviewed, organizational policies were upgraded, and a work plan for the coming 3 years was drawn up.

KWAT is committed to working towards genuine peace and federal democracy in Burma, justice and promoting women’s participation in decision making at all levels. We will continue to help women from conflict zones and to work on eliminating all forms of violence against women, including human trafficking.

KWAT’s position on the current political situation in Burma is as follows:

  • KWAT strongly rejects the military coup in Burma and condemns all forms of support that enable the military to remain in power
  • KWAT welcomes the announcement of the abolishment of the 2008 constitution by the Committee Representing Pyidaungsu Hluttaw (CRPH) and condemns the continuation of any peace process under the 2008 constitution, including the Nationwide Ceasefire Agreement (NCA) process
  • KWAT calls for any peace process or political dialogue to be all-inclusive, especially for all EAOs
  • KWAT will welcome a new federal constitution which is based on the Panglong Agreement and which guarantees at least 30% women’s participation in decision making

In the 11thCongress, KWAT has changed the term of its secretariat to be 3 years and appointed the previous secretariat team, Executive Committee Members and Advisory Board members to serve another term, due to  the emergency situation resulting from the Covid-19 pandemic and military coup.

KWAT is also committed to advocating for broad economic sanctions, a halt to investment before the establishment of genuine federalism, a global arms embargo, accountability, and cross border aid to Burma.

The Executive Committee members are:

1. Mrs. Shirley Seng

2. Mrs. Na Tong

3. Mrs. Linda Lahtaw


The Secretaries are:

1. Ms. Jessica Nhkum (General Secretary)

2. Mrs. San Htoi (Joint General Secretary)


[email protected]

[email protected]

+66(0) 897559892

Download PDF.