Statement on Shelling of School on Myanmar’s Children Day

February 15th, 2020  •  Author:   126 Civil Society Organizations  •  4 minute read

Date: Feb 15, 2020

21 students were injured when a mortar hit a primary school on Myanmar’s Children Day at Buditaung Township, Khamwe Chaung Village in Arakan Region. Some injured children are seriously injured as a result of the shelling and some are critical point for survival.

The laws of war prohibit the targeting of innocent civilians, schools, hospitals and world heritage building during armed conflicts. International Law experts have stated that “such shelling are war crimes.”

On Feb 13, 2020, in the morning, there was a fight between Burmese Army and AA (Arakanese Army). Half an hour later after the fight, a mortar hit the school.

Neither the Burmese Army nor the AA have confessed who is responsible for such kind of atrocious event. We strongly condemn both sides for targeting innocent villagers and for not taking responsibilities.

We urge both sides to cease the fighting in order to avoid another incident like this and to protect civilians. In addition, we also urge the Government to lift the internet restrictions in Arakan State in order to allow citizens to collect and share important information.

An official apology by Government and the responsible leader from either the Burmese Army or AA is needed for those who were killed and injured without done anything wrong.

Reparation and justice is also needed to ensure this does not happen again in future, all armed forces in Myanmar need to reform.

We urge the Government and all concerned related leaders to bring justice for this atrocity as soon as possible and to take action in accordance with the law.

Contact Person –

Ko Aung Myo Kyaw (AAPP)
Phone – 09428117348

Ma Thinzar Shunn Leah Yi (ACDD)
Phone – 09795574775

Ko Aung Zaw Oo (HRDP)
Phone – 09421039493

Endorsed Civil Society Organizations:

  1. Assistance Association for Political Prisoners (AAPP)
  2. Yangon Watch
  3. Future Light Center
  4. Synergy (Social Harmony Organization)
  5. Metta Campaign (Mandalay)
  6. Human Rights Defenders and Promoters (HRDP)
  7. The Seagull: Human Rights, Peace & Development
  8. Action Committee for Democracy Development
  9. Equality Myanmar
  10. Human Rights Educators Network (HREN)
  11. Myanmar People Alliance (SS)
  12. Karenni Human Rights Group (KnHRG)
  13. Athan- Freedom of Expression Activist Organization
  14. Loka Ahlinn Social Development Organization
  15. Progressive Voice (PV)
  16. Than Lwin Citizen Empowerment Program
  17. Generation Wave (GW)
  18. KWAT
  19. Genuine People Servants (GPS)
  20. ပေါင်းကူး
  21. မေတ္တာဖွံ့ဖြိုးရေးဖောင်ဒေးရှင်း
  22. COMREG
  23. သူရိယစန္ဒာပတ်ဝန်းကျင်စောင့်ကြည့်ရေးအဖွဲ့
  24. ပွိုင့်- ရိုးရာဝန်းကျင်မြှင့်တင်ရေးအဖွဲ့
  25. လေသာရဖောင်ဒေးရှင်း
  26. ပေါင်းစီးမေတ္တာအဖွဲ့
  27. အာရှအလင်းရောင်ဖောင်ဒေးရှင်း (ပြင်ဦးလွင်)
  28. Keng Tung Land Group
  29. Helping Hand Tachileik
  30. Citizens Action For Transparency (CAFT)
  31. စိမ်းလန်းပြင်ဦးလွင်
  32. MaRaJa(MRJ)
  33. Htoi Gender and Development Foundation
  34. Southern Youth
  35. Badeidha Moe Civil Society Organization
  36. Thint Myat Lo Thu Myat (Peace Seekers and Multiculturalist Movement)
  37. Khamthar Farmers Union
  38. Matu Women Organization
  39. Men Fellowship (Matupi)
  40. Women Fellowship (Matupi)
  41. Cang Bong Youth (Matupi)
  42. Matupi Baptist Churches
  43. Chin Youth Organization
  44. Matu Social Welfare
  45. Matu Forum Committee
  46. DDA Dawei Development Association
  47. Htee Chike Network
  48. Green Rights Organization
  49. Hkumzup Development Committee
  50. Kalyanameikta Social Development Association (Khin U)
  51. Uakthon Local Social Development Organization
  52. Shwechinthae Farmers Network
  53. Golden Heart Organization
  54. Summer Shelter Library
  55. Democratic Education Corner (DEC)
  56. Center for Social Integrity
  57. Myanmar Cultural Research Society(MCRS)
  58. Minhal Youth Centre
  59. Civil Call
  60. MATA – Sagaing
  61. Shwechinthae Social Service Group (Shwebo)
  62. Halcyon- သုခဂေဟာ
  63. Nyan Lynn Thit Analytica
  64. Oway Education and Youth Institute
  65. ဆွေသဟာအဖွဲ့
  66. Mwetaung Area Development Group
  67. Bee House
  68. ရွှေမင်းသားဖောင်ဒေးရှင်း
  69. သင့်မြတ်သူများ၏ငြိမ်းချမ်းရေးလမ်းစဉ်အဖွဲ့ – PoPP
  70. Sharing (မျှဝေရာ)
  71. လူငယ်အစည်းအရုံး – ပဲခူး
  72. Saytana Shaesaung Youth Organization
  73. Young Ni Oo Social Development Organization
  74. Young Ni Oo Women Group
  75. Muditar Organization
  76. Paungsee Myittar Organization
  77. Pone Yate Sit Regional Development Organization
  78. ကျေးလက်ဒေသလူမှုဖွံ့ဖြိုးရေးအဖွဲ့
  79. Future Star Youth Organization
  80. Lin Lake Kyal Social Development Organization
  81. ဓမ္မအလင်း ယဉ်ကျေးလိမ္မာအဖွဲ့
  82. ကလေးသူငယ်ကာကွယ်စောင့်ရှောက်ရေးကွန်ယက်
  83. ပျိုးဥယျာဉ်ပညာရေးအထောက်အကူပြုအဖွဲ့
  84. Sar Phyu Famer Network
  85. Pan Tain Shin Women Rural Development Organization
  86. စာနာကြည်ဖြူလူမှုဖွံ့ဖြိုးရေးအဖွဲ့
  87. ဂရုဏာရှင်နာရေးကူညီရေးအဖွဲ့
  88. Shwe Thinkha Social Development Organization
  89. Community Association Development
  90. ရည်ရွယ်ရာလူငယ်ဖွံ့ဖြိုးရေးအဖွဲ့
  91. Rule of Law watch group
  92. အလုပ်သမားဖွံ့ဖြိုးတိုးတက်ရေးအဖွဲ့
  93. အလင်းရောင်လူမှုဖွံ့ဖြိုးရေး
  94. အားမာန်သစ်လူမှုဖွံ့ဖြိုးရေးအဖွဲ့
  95. စွမ်းစုတည် ကျေးလက်ဒေသဖွံ့ဖြိုးရေးအဖွဲ့
  96. ရွှေအနာဂတ်လူမှုဖွံ့ဖြိုးရေးအဖွဲ့
  97. အခမဲ့ပညာရေးဝန်ဆောင်မှုအဖွဲ့
  98. ဖြူစင်မေတ္တာနာရေးကူညီမှုအသင်း
  99. ရွှေနံသာတောင်သူလယ်သမားအဖွဲ့
  100. ဧရာပျိုမေအမျိုးသမီးဖွံ့ဖြိုးရေးအဖွဲ့
  101. တောင်သူလယ်သမားစိုက်ပျိုးမွေးမြူရေးကွန်ယက်
  102. ရတနာရောင်ခြည်လူမှုဖွံ့ဖြိုးရေးအဖွဲ့
  103. ကောင်းမြတ်နှလုံးသားကျန်းမာရေးစောင့်ရှောက်မှုအဖွဲ့
  104. ထွန်းသစ်စကျေးလက်ဒေသဖွံ့ဖြိုးရေးအဖွဲ့
  105. ကမ်းခြေအားမာန်ရေလုပ်သားဖွံ့ဖြိုးတိုးတက်ရေးအဖွဲ့
  106. မြစ်မဧရာဝတီအဖွဲ့
  107. အလင်းတံခါးအဖွဲ့
  108. Hope for Children အဖွဲ့
  109. အနာဂတ်အလင်းသစ်အဖွဲ့
  110. စေတနာရှင်လူမှုကူညီရေးအဖွဲ့
  111. ပန်းသီကြိုး LGBT အဖွဲ့ (၁၁၁ ဖွဲ့)
  112. Action Group for Farmers Affair (AGFA)(မန္တလေးတိုင်း)
  113. Action Group for Farmers Affair (AGFA) (စစ်ကိုင်းတိုင်း)
  114. Action Group for Farmers Affair (AGFA) ( မကွေးတိုင်း)
  115. Action Group for Farmers Affair (AGFA)( ဧရာဝတီတိုင်း)
  116. Action Group for Farmers Affair (AGFA)(ပဲဲခူးတိုင်း)
  117. စိမ်းရောင်စို (တံတားဦး)
  118. ဝါးစိမ်းတောင်ကာကွယ်စောင့်ကြည့်ရေးကော်မတီ (WPWC)
  119. Peace and Justic
  120. Justice Movement for Community, Innlay
  121. အစ္စလာမ့်တံခွန်လူမှု့ကူညီရေးအဖွဲ့ဗန်းမော်မြို့(ကချင်ပြည်နယ်)
  122. 8888 New Generation (Mohnyin)
  123. အလင်းတန်းအဖွဲ့
  124. Doe Myay Community Development organization (Twantay)
  125. မေမြို့​တောင်သူကွန်ရက်
  126. Mandalay Community Center

Download the English statement in PDF.

Download the Burmese statement in PDF.